Thank you Stoneygate School

Following my visit to Lyon, France, to the World Masters Athletics Championships I must write and say a huge thank  you to so many of you!

Your good wishes, cards, telephone calls and messages sent to me were so appreciated and I took some of the good luck trinkets to Lyon, tucked away between athletics kit. I’m sure they all helped!

Luck certainly went my way during my two weeks of competition and I was very pleased to achieve results which were far beyond those I had dreamed of. It was tough! – Heats, finals, a 40 degree heat wave, diabetes ups and downs! Nerves in the athletics arenas were taken to a height that I didn’t even know existed – gosh, imagine getting to my age and still discovering that you could be more frightened than ever before! But, you either take the opportunity or you don’t! I decided to take it!

So, remember when the going gets really tough …. If I can do it, so can the amazing children at Stoneygate School! Not just in sport but in any situation……

I had a wonderful and exciting time and I felt very proud to represent Great Britain on the World stage. GB were 3rd on the medals table, out of 96 countries. The athletics was inspiring and the comradeship and emotion of 8000 like-minded fit people was a privilege to be part of.  Lyon was a beautiful and cultural place.

These are my results:-

Bronze medal – 80m Hurdles

Bronze medal – Heptathlon

Bronze medal – 4 x 400m relay

Silver medal – 300m Hurdles

Gold medal – 4 x 100m relay

Continue to enjoy sport everyone! My very best wishes and thanks,

Mrs Sue Frisby